Peninsula De Samana

  • Beach Las Terrenas Samana
  • Balneario La Fuente Sanchez Samana 2
  • Beach Las Terrenas Village
  • Las Galeras 1
  • Las Galeras Gif Shop
  • Las Galeras Playa Rincon
  • Las Galeras Samana Dominican Republic
  • Las Terrenas Beach
  • Las Terrenas Samana Dominican Republic
  • Las Terrenas
  • Samana Pueblo Principe
  • Santa Barbara de Samana 3
  • Santa Barbara de Samana Chirch
  • Santa Barbara de Samana Dominican Republic
  • Waterfall Limon Samana


The Samana Peninsula is a region of the Dominican Republic but also an administrative province whose capital is Santa Barbara de Samana where the public institutions are located. The province is made up of 3 municipalities (Santa Barbara de Samana, Las Terrenas, Sanchez) and 3 municipal districts (Arroyo Barril, El Limon, Las Galeras).

The main economic activities are tourism, agriculture and fishing. The opening up of the province has allowed tourism to develop strongly, the main tourist cities are Las Terrenas, Las Galeras and Santa Barbara de Samana. The Samana Peninsula is one of the most beautiful regions of the Dominican Republic with fantastic beaches and breathtaking scenery with relatively low and rugged mountains. It is surrounded to the north and east by the Atlantic Ocean and to the south by the Bay of Samana. The Sierra de Samana occupies most of the province.

There are a few all-inclusive resorts, mainly the Bahia Principe chain, but there are a lot of small hotels, apart-hotels, guest houses, villas and residences. The offer is abundant and in full development especially towards Las Terrenas. Tourists come from all over the world to enjoy the beaches and the sun.

The main tourist attractions are Los Haitises National Park, El Limon waterfall, beaches, whale watching during the months of January, February and March, and scuba diving. Among the dozens of beaches we can mention playa Rincon, Fronton, Coson, Las Ballenas, Moron, Punta Popy, Cayo Levantado, El Valle... some of which are still virgin and wild.

The Samana peninsula cannot be visited entirely in one day, but there are excursions departing from Santo Domingo, Punta Cana, Puerto Plata or La Romana which allow you to visit one or two tourist attractions during the day. Note that the peninsula is more than 2 hours from Santo Domingo and 4 hours from Punta Cana (Samana Punta Cana distance: 186 miles (300 km).). There is an airport (El Catey – Presidente Juan Bosch) which serves a few cities in North America, Europe and with internal connections.

Location - access map to Peninsula De Samana

The Samana peninsula is located in the northeast of the Dominican Republic, it is a peninsula surrounded by water, on one side is the Atlantic Ocean and on the other side the bay of Samana. It is connected to the rest of the country by the Northeast highway which connects Santo Domingo (the administrative and economic capital) and the entire Caribbean coast to the peninsula and by the Nagua-Samana road which connects the north of the Dominican Republic to the peninsula.

Share your experience, give your opinion on PENINSULA DE SAMANA.

You know tourist sites (natural sites, monuments, lakes, rivers, waterfalls, beaches, caves, hikes, excursions, parks, museums...) and you want to share them and make them discover, send us all the information and will publish. Contact.

0 opinion :

Average rating : 0 / 5 (0 notes)

Accessibility : 0 (0 = very easy ... 5 = very difficult)

+ add a review

Home  |   Dominican Republic  |   Links Dominican Republic   |   Dominican Republic Museums  |   National Parks  |   Ecotourism  |   Dominican Republic Distances  |   Diving in Dominican Republic  |   Partners  |   Partners 1  |   Map  |   Travel advice  |   Contact us

All rights reserved - Copyright The information contained on the pages of this site are only for information. Changes may occur at any time without be informed. Our responsibility can be incurred for any errors found in the information.